offersskybird.blogg.se

Is the new mac mini good for video editing
Is the new mac mini good for video editing












is the new mac mini good for video editing

IS THE NEW MAC MINI GOOD FOR VIDEO EDITING PRO

Just how comparable is this Mac mini going to be to a computer which is around three times its price? If it turns out to be on a level pegging with my 16” MacBook Pro (or beats it), that’s incredibly exciting for what’s to come. You can expect plenty of thoughts on that and its ability to compete with the iMac’s 5K screen in future articles and videos – stay tuned! I want a better idea of where the M1 will head next That’s why I’m pairing the Mac mini with a 34” MSi widescreen monitor. But I need to broaden my horizons, and the M1 Mac mini will enable me to try out something rather different. I’m yet to see any other computer monitor that’s as sharp or bright. I’ve made it clear in the past just how much I love that gorgeous 5K display on Apple’s iMacs. It also doesn’t feature an ultra widescreen display. But it’s ageing now, and I no longer use it for video editing or music production. My desktop of choice for the last few years has been a 27” iMac. This isn’t really a reason to buy another M1-powered Mac, but it’s something that has been on my mind for a while. I want to enter the world of ultra widescreen monitors I can’t wait to find out how this thing performs within a busy, content-based business. What if it simply doesn’t frustrate me at all and breezes through each day without breaking a sweat? What will it take for the M1 mini to frustrate me? I’m far more interested in how devices feel on a day-to-day basis. If you’ve read or watched my reviews before, you’ll know I’m not a fan of benchmark scores (although they’re occasionally useful for reference, as noted above). I want to know if it will ever slow down, crash or frustrate me. That means I’m yet to push it to its fullest, and while I’ll be doing that to a degree for my audience, the M1 Mac mini will give me the chance to do so day-in, day-out for my business. Although I’ve edited video on it, that was never the reason for purchasing the Air I wanted it to be my go-to Mac when out and about and while undertaking my early morning productivity routine on the sofa. My M1 MacBook Air is, to all intents and purposes, a writing and admin workhorse. Why not just benefit from all of that raw power now? I want to see how far I can push the M1 Waiting for a super-powered M1 iMac therefore just didn’t make sense from my perspective.

is the new mac mini good for video editing

When it comes to pounds-per-grunt, the M1 Mac mini is unbeatable in the current Mac lineup. They out-benchmark the base level Mac Pro in single core performance, and the 16” MacBook Pro in multi-core performance. Regardless, these M1 Mac minis represent incredible value for money. Yes, you’ll pay ‘Apple Tax’ on everything they sell, but I have always offset that against the longevity, build quality and resale value offered by these machines. And yes, I know I need to add a monitor (more on that later), but the total price when I do is still nowhere near the 16” MacBook’s. My Mac mini set me back £915.84 (ex VAT – it’s a business purchase).

is the new mac mini good for video editing

This Mac mini will therefore complete my M1 collection and enable me to conduct far more meaningful real-world tests between the two configurations, not to mention comparing aspects like passive versus active cooling.īut I haven’t really explained why this Mac mini will be replacing my £3,500 16” MacBook Pro, have I? I already have an 8GB M1 machine, and the most consistent topic of conversation within the comment threads on my YouTube channel centre around the big RAM debate. When my M1 Mac mini arrives later this week, it’ll come complete with 16GB of RAM and a 512GB SSD. So, instead, I decided to invest in a brand-new video editing and music production rig which would centre around… an M1 Mac mini. So excited, in fact, that I wrote this.Īs it turns out, my next M1 Mac wouldn’t be an iMac. You see, after that initial experience with the M1 MacBook Air, I got ridiculously excited about the prospect of an M1 iMac. The aforementioned rendering test genuinely knocked me sideways, and it set my mind alight with ideas of what my next M1 Mac would be.Īt this juncture, I must make a confession. I knew the M1 was going to be impressive, but like so many reviewers, I didn’t realise quite how impressive it would be.

  • the absolutely effortless performance of the M1 chip.
  • the completely pain-free transition during which all of my apps just… worked and.
  • During my first week with the M1 MacBook Air, two things leapt out at me:














    Is the new mac mini good for video editing